

## Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council

800 North State Street, Suite 201, Dover, DE 19901 Phone: 302-674-2331 | FAX: 302-674-5399 | www.mafmc.org Michael P. Luisi, Chairman | P. Weston Townsend, Vice Chairman Christopher M. Moore, Ph.D., Executive Director

July 24, 2023

Steven W. Bloodgood Director, Division of Seafood Safety Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition U.S. Food and Drug Administration 5001 Campus Drive, RM 3C103 College Park, Maryland 20740

## Dear Steven:

The Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council manages more than 65 marine species in federal waters and is composed of members from the coastal states of New York to North Carolina (including Pennsylvania). Our Council, along with National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Fisheries, is responsible for the management of the Atlantic surfclam and ocean quahog fisheries that are prosecuted in the Federal waters off the Northeast US. Because any changes to molluscan shellfish Federal waters biotoxin protocols under the National Shellfish Sanitation Program (NSSP) Model Ordinance may impact these fisheries, my staff have been tracking this issue with support from your staff at the Food and Drug Administration (Quentin Forrest) and with the NOAA Office of International Affairs, Trade, and Commerce - Office of Seafood Inspection (Laurice Churchill).

At our recent June 2023 Council Meeting, fishing industry members raised specific questions regarding what would be required to change the current paralytic shellfish poisoning (PSP) closed area on Georges Bank to an open, controlled status access area. As such, please provide an update on the steps and associated timing involved with the implementation of any changes to molluscan shellfish Federal waters biotoxin protocols that may impact our Atlantic surfclam and ocean quahog fisheries and allow for an opening of this closed area.

We look forward to your response. Please call me or Jessica Coakley of my staff if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Christopher M. Moore, Ph.D.

**Executive Director** 

cc: L. Churchill, J. Coakley, J.Q. Forrest, M. Luisi, J. Montañez, M. Pentony, D. Potts, W. Townsend