The Oscar E. Sette Award for Outstanding Marine Fishery Biologist

The O.E. Sette award for general excellence is given annually by the Marine Fisheries Section of the American Fisheries Society. Oscar Elton Sette (1900-1972) was a pioneer in integrating fisheries, oceanography, and meteorology to understand the dynamic structure of the equatorial Pacific Ocean and the importance of upwelling and frontal structures on tuna, sardines and other species. The NOAA research ship Oscar Elton Sette (http://www.omao.noaa.gov/learn/marine-operations/ships/oscar-elton-sette) stationed in Honolulu, is named in his honor.



Oscar Sette (middle front) with NAFO co-workers

Sette was born on March 29, 1900. He was 18 when he began his scientific career, counting albacore on the docks of Monterey for William F. Thompson (1888-1965), then-director of the California State Fisheries Laboratory in San Pedro. After a stint in the U.S. Army during World War I, and a degree at Stanford, Sette went to work for Thompson. He incorporated increasing amount of statistical data into his research, leading to a position with the U.S. Bureau of Fisheries as Chief of the North Atlantic Fisheries Investigations in 1928. The Bureau transferred him back to California in 1937, to head a new sardine research program. His sardine program was adopted by the California Cooperative Oceanic Fisheries Investigation (CalCOFI).

Congress allocated funds in 1947 to build a new large laboratory in Honolulu. Sette was appointed director and made chief of the Pacific Oceanic Fishery Investigations (POFI) in 1949. With three new research vessels, Sette's team produced a large number of publications on ocean conditions, including the influential "Progress in Pacific Oceanic Fishery Investigations, 1950-53." Sette was one of the founding members of the American Institute of Fishery Research Biologists (http://www.aifrb.org/founding-fellow-oscarelton-sette/). The Department of the Interior awarded him its highest service honor upon his retirement in 1961. He died in Los Altos, California, on July 25, 1972.

Sette is remembered for his remarkable scientific career, but also for his unassuming demeanor, enormous tact, and administrative ability. Friends described him as a life-long scholar, with an enthusiasm for teaching.

The basic criterion for identifying recipients of the award is sustained excellence in marine fishery biology through research, teaching, administration, or a combination of the three. MFS adopted the following guidelines:

- North American residents are the preferred recipients, but the award may be given to any suitable candidate.
- Membership in the American Fisheries Society is a positive attribute but is not required. AFS membership could tip the balance between otherwise equally-deserving candidates.
- Living recipients are preferred, but the award may be given posthumously.
- The Committee considers not only candidates who, by virtue of their position and personality, are widely known, but may also have labored quietly and are less well-known, but who have made sustained and important contributions to marine fishery biology.
- Candidates should be clearly identified with marine fishery science, even though there may well be crossover between marine and freshwater environments. Contributions to any discipline within the broad spectrum of activities in marine fisheries biology should be considered appropriate for candidates, including systematics, physiology, and ecology.

Present and Former Recipients of the Oscar Elton Sette Award:

2017 Tim Essington, University of Washington, Seattle, Washington, USA

2016 Ellen Pikitch, Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, New York, USA

2015 David Conover, Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, New York, USA

2014 Mary Fabrizio, College of William and Mary, Virginia Institute of Marine Science, Gloucester Point, Virginia, USA

2013 C. Phillip Goodyear

2012 Andre Punt, University of Washington, Seattle, Washington, USA

2011 Brian J. Rothschild, University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth

2010 Michael H. Prager

2009 Bernard A. Megrey, NOAA/NMFS, Alaska Fisheries Science Center

- 2008 Kevin M. Bailey
- 2007 Robert Francis, University of Washington
- 2006 Kenneth Sherman, NOAA Fisheries Service, Narragansett, RI
- 2005 Richard Beamish
- 2004 Kenneth Able
- 2003 Michael P. Sissenwine
- 2002 William Richards
- 2001 Daniel Pauly
- 2000 Edmund S. Hobson
- 1999 Austin B. Williams
- 1998 Edward D. Houde
- 1997 William E. Ricker
- 1996 William (Bill) C. Leggett, Queens University, Kingston, Ontario
- 1995 William G. Pearcy
- 1994 Saul B. Saila
- 1993 D.E. (Curly) Wohlschlag
- 1992 Douglas Chapman
- 1991 Lloyd Dickie

Source: <u>https://mfs.fisheries.org/sette</u>