

Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council

800 North State Street, Suite 201, Dover, DE 19901 Phone: 302-674-2331 | FAX: 302-674-5399 | www.mafmc.org Michael P. Luisi, Chairman | P. Weston Townsend, Vice Chairman Christopher M. Moore, Ph.D., Executive Director

MEMORANDUM

Date: December 2, 2022

To: Executive Committee

From: Chris Moore, Executive Director

Subject: Ricks E Savage Award

The Executive Committee will meet in closed session on Monday, December 12 to consider nominations for the Ricks E Savage award. The award is presented annually to a person who has added value to the Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council process and management goals through significant scientific, legislative, enforcement, or management activities. The award is typically presented during the Council's February meeting.

Selection Process

- 1. Written nominations will be solicited and received by the end of November each year by the Executive Committee.
- 2. Initially, nominations may only be made by Mid-Atlantic Council members.
- 3. The Executive Committee will select the recipient by consensus.
- 4. The recipient's identity will remain confidential, if possible, until announced during the award presentation.

Other Award Rules

- 1. Candidates must be nominated each year (nominations will not carry over)
- 2. Recipients can be reimbursed for travel expenses to receive the award.
- 3. The recipient will receive a plaque. A permanent plaque will be placed in the Headquarters office in Dover with a list of all the recipients.

Past Recipients

2006 – Jim Ruhle2016 – Lee Anderson2007 – Jim Gilford2017 – Howard King2008 – Phil Ruhle2018 – Rich Seagraves2009 – Laurie Nolan2019 – Rob O'Reilly2010 – Dennis Spitsbergen2020 – Warren Elliott2011 – John Boreman2021 – Steve Heins

2012 – Jack Travelstead 2013 – Red Munden

2014 – George Darcy

2015 - Pres Pate